Slider

Recent Movies

HORROR MOVIE DAYS - BLOG EVENT - [REC 4] APOCALYPSE (2014) - REVIEW + HD TRAILER

[REC] 4: Apocalipsis (2014)


video

An ill-fated television reporter is rescued and sent on a voyage across the ocean, but she is followed by the deadly virus that has plagued her and numerous others.

Director:

Writers:

(screenplay), (screenplay)

Stars:


Ángela Vidal, the spunky young television reporter that entered the building in 2007 has exited with the swat team. Little do they know that she carries the seed of the strange demonic infection. She is taken to an oil tanker miles off shore which has been especially equipped for the quarantine...

Official Sites:

Country:

Language:

Release Date:

31 October 2014 (Spain)  »

Also Known As:

[REC] 4: Apocalypse  »

Filming Locations:

 »

Box Office

Budget:

€3.000.000 (estimated)

Opening Weekend:

€493.575 (Spain) (30 October 2014)

Gross:

$708 (USA) (2 January 2015)
 »

Company Credits


Technical Specs

Runtime:

Sound Mix:

Color:

Aspect Ratio:

2.35 : 1

Did You Know?

Trivia

Most of the film was shot on an actual oil rig ship. Some of the sets had to be recreated from the ship at the studio in order to allow space to film and do stunts. 

Goofs

The boat motor that is being used as a weapon and also to propel the escape raft has no fuel source. 

Crazy Credits

There's a scene during the end credits. 

Connections

Features [Rec] (2007)


How badly do you want to see rabid computer-generated zombie-monkeys die violently? Because there's not much else worth recommending in  "[Rec] 4: Apocalypse", the latest entry in a found-footage horror franchise about a zombie outbreak in modern-day Spain. "[Rec] 4: Apocalypse" starts off with a promising idea. Unlike the first few films, which presented Spanish zombies as Catholic demons/monsters that shrink back when attacked with holy water and Bible passages, "[Rec] 4: Apocalypse" focuses on more secular/human monsters: army scientists. 

The film's creators are fundamentally mistrustful of scientists like Dr. Ricarte (Hector Colome), a strictly-by-the-book scientist who blithely experiments on humans and monkeys without considering his reluctant test subjects' needs. Sadly, that weirdly paranoid characterization of clinical scientists isn't developed beyond a point. Instead, director Jaume Balaguero, the co-helmer of the first two "[Rec]" films, sets up an interesting villain, and then shifts gears completely. The rest of the film is a bland survival horror film that pits a bunch of forgettable human protagonists, including Angela (Manuela Velasco), a news reporter and the sole survivor of the first "[Rec]" movie, against a horde of equally disposable flesh-eaters.

First, let's deal with the movie that "[Rec] 4: Apocalypse" is, then double-back to the movie it promises to be. "[Rec] 4: Apocalypse" is, by and large, a predictable, and needlessly ugly-looking horror film. Angela wakes up after the events of "[Rec]" and discovers she's been pre-emptivley quarantined on a ship by a group of army scientists. She's there because scientists like Dr. Ricarte are trying to make a retrovirus to stop the zombie outbreak. But inevitably, one of the scientists' other test subjects—a zombie-monkey—gets loose, and Angela and the ship's crew must fight for their lives. 

This sounds fairly basic—because it is. "[Rec] 4: Apocalypse" is easily the laziest in the film series. While "[Rec] 3: Genesis" was the first to ditch the franchises's lame found-footage conceit, "Apocalypse" still features pointlessly nauseating hand-held, dimly lit cinematography. In fact, the film quickly devolves into a collection of pointless confrontations featuring bland characters who are only interesting when their lives are in danger. Even Angela, a heroine that's set up to be the "[Rec]" series's answer to Sigourney Weaver's Ripley in the "Alien" movies, isn't especially compelling. She spends a lot of the movie figuring out what's going, then capably dispatches monsters with the help of capable military men like Lucas (Cripulo Cabezas). Explosions, blood, and gore fly around them, and then you go home. There's nothing wrong with the film's formula-based storytelling, but rather its creators bland execution. Balaguero and co-writer Manu Diez never set emotional stakes that are so deep that they can't just pull them up on a scene-by-scene basis.

Then there's the movie that "[Rec] 4: Apocalypse" should have been. At the start of the film, we're shown a perfunctory, but tantalizing flashback to the end of "[Rec]." We follow a SWAT team as they fend off zombies in a dark apartment. These men know what's expected of them if they get infected, and are prepared to kill each other if anyone in their group is bitten. They cite "rules" and then unsentimentally shoot each other. It's a jolting start to the film, though it's filmed in a graceless, run-and-gun style that makes the film's opening feel crassly cynical when it should feel unnervingly sudden.

Still, this introductory scene does establish an interesting parallel between the first film's no-nonsense cops and scientists like Dr. Ricarte and his colleague Dr. Guzman (Paco Manzanedo). Guzman plays Good Scientist to Ricarte's Bad Scientist: Guzman's patient while Ricarte's eye is always on the clock. When a retroviral cure seems to fail, Guzman is begs Ricarte not kill all of their test subject, but rather give him more time to test a new possible solution. Ricarte, by contrast, is quick to leap to conclusions, and follow protocol. He's frantic, and doesn't weigh his options like Guzman does, so naturally he's the film's biggest baddy. 

Too bad that neither Guzman nor Ricarte are important to the plot of "[Rec] 4: Apocalypse" beyond a couple of key scenes. Balaguero and Diez draw no substantial connections between the "[Rec]" zombies' identities as Catholic/Christian demons, and Ricarte's compulsion to play God, and treat Angela like just another lab animal. Moreover, Ricarte's domineering need to diagnose and contain Angela looks, as it's presented, weirdly superstitious, and to no thoughtful end. If Ricarte's behavior is a symptom of greater social problems in Spain, you wouldn't know it based on "[Rec] 4: Apocalypse."

So how about those fake-looking, undead simians? They're gross-looking, and loud, and when they get destroyed, they make an impressive splat. But beyond that, who cares? Unless you're a diehard zombie fan, you can wait until an intrepid fanboy posts a highlight reel from "[Rec] 4: Apocalypse" on YouTube. Zombie monkeys are fun, but they're not worth 96 minutes of your time.

Final rating: 6/10 and overall the same 6/10 and so it is a movie for fans of the series but likewise not interesting for those who are really looking for a good horror movie.


Thanks for reading and have fun watching movies.

HORROR MOVIE DAYS - BLOG EVENT - THE EXORCISM OF EMILY ROSE (2005) - REVIEW + HD TRAILER

Hello guys and welcome to a new blog event on movietown and this time I will talk about horror movies only, since Halloween is about to come and I am getting excited for this already and I wanted to let you know as early as possible my real opinion about the best horror movies in the past 10 years. So let us start with a movie, which is based on a true story.

The Exorcism of Emily Rose (2005)


video

A lawyer takes on a negligent homicide case involving a priest who performed an exorcism on a young girl.

Director:

Stars:

When a younger girl called Emily Rose dies, everyone puts blame on the exorcism which was performed on her by Father Moore prior to her death. The priest is arrested on suspicion of murder. The trail begins with lawyer Erin Bruner representing Moore, but it is not going to be easy, as no one wants to believe what Father Moore says is true. 

Official Sites:

Country:

Language:

| | | | | |

Release Date:

23 November 2005 (Philippines)  »

Also Known As:

El exorcismo de Emily Rose  »

Box Office

Budget:

$20.000.000 (estimated)

Opening Weekend:

$30.054.300 (USA) (11 September 2005)

Gross:

$75.072.454 (USA) (6 November 2005)
 »

Company Credits


Technical Specs

Runtime:

| (unrated)

Sound Mix:

| |

Color:

(Technicolor)

Aspect Ratio:

2.35 : 1

Did You Know?

Trivia

Laura Linney and Campbell Scott had acted together before, in Lush (1999). See more »

Goofs

When Erin turns her alarm clock around the first time her hairstyle and color are completely different. See more »

Quotes

Father Moore: It scared the hell out of me.

Crazy Credits

Opening statement: This film is based on a true story. 

Connections

Featured in 30 Even Scarier Movie Moments (2006) 

Soundtracks

Prelude, Op. 3, No. 2 in C Sharp Minor
(1887)
Written by Sergei Rachmaninoff 
"Demons exist whether you believe in them or not," says the priest at the center of "The Exorcism of Emily Rose." Yes, and you could also say that demons do not exist whether you believe in them or not, because belief by definition stands outside of proof. If you can prove it, you don't need to believe it.

Such truths are at the center of this intriguing and perplexing movie, which is based on the true story of a priest who was accused of murder after a teenage girl died during an exorcism. If the priest is correct and the girl was possessed by a demon, he is innocent. If the authorities called by the prosecution are correct, she died of psychotic epileptic disorder, and the priest created complications leading to her death. If, on the other hand, exorcism theory is correct, drugs given to the girl to treat her "disorder" made her immune to exorcism and led to her death.
The movie is told through flashbacks from a courtroom, where Father Moore (Tom Wilkinson) is on trial. He has been offered a deal (plead guilty to reckless endangerment and do six years of a 12-year sentence), but he refuses it: "I don't care about my reputation and I'm not afraid of jail. All I care about is telling Emily Rose's story." His lawyer Erin Bruner (Laura Linney) despairs, and yet admires him for his conviction. She herself does not believe in demons. The prosecutor, Ethan Thomas (Campbell Scott) is a churchgoer and does presumably believe, but lawyers sometimes argue against what they believe to be true. That's their job.

And who is Emily Rose? As played by Jennifer Carpenter in a grueling performance, she is a college student who sees the faces of friends and strangers turn into demonic snarls. Her nightmares are haunting. She speaks in foreign languages. She loses an alarming amount of weight. She calls home for help, in tears. Her boyfriend can't reach her. The parish priest, Father Moore, is called in, and determines that an exorcism is indicated.

He has authorization from the archdiocese, but after he is charged with murder the church authorities order him to accept plea bargaining and create as little scandal for the church as possible. The church is curiously ambivalent about exorcism. It believes that the devil and his agents can be active in the world, it has a rite of exorcism, and it has exorcists. On the other hand, it is reluctant to certify possessions and authorize exorcisms, and it avoids publicity on the issue. It's like those supporters of Intelligent Design who privately believe in a literal interpretation of Genesis, but publicly distance themselves from it because that would undermine their plausibility in the wider world.

What is fascinating about "The Exorcism of Emily Rose" is that it asks a secular institution, the court, to decide a question that hinges on matters the court cannot have an opinion on. Either Emily was possessed by a demon and Father Moore did his best to save her, or she had a psychotic condition and he unwittingly did his best to kill her. The defense and the prosecution mount strong arguments and call persuasive witnesses, but in the end it all comes down to the personal beliefs of the jury. A juror who does not believe in demons must find the priest guilty, if perhaps sincere. A juror who does believe in demons must decide if Emily Rose was possessed, or misdiagnosed. In a case like this, during the jury selection, are you qualified or disqualified by believing one way or the other?

The movie takes place in a small town surrounded by a Grant Wood landscape; houses and remote farms crouch in winter fields under a harsh sky. The key relationship is between the priest and his defense attorney. Erin Bruner does not believe in devils, but she believes in Father Moore, and she believes he believes in them. "There are dark forces surrounding this trial," he warns her, suggesting that she herself might be a target of demons. In this and other scenes the movie is studiously neutral on the subject of the priest: He would look, speak and behave exactly the same if he were sane and sincere, or deluded and sincere.

Erin works for a powerful law firm retained by the archdiocese. She wants to be named a partner, but she won't be if she agrees with Father Moore's wish to appear on the witness stand; the archdiocese wants to make a deal leading to a quick settlement, with no testimony from the priest, and the archdiocese, not the priest, is the client who is paying. Which way does Erin turn? The film is fascinating in the way it makes legal and ethical issues seem as suspenseful as possession and exorcism.

The movie was directed by Scott Derrickson and written by Paul Harris Boardman and Derrickson. The screenplay is intelligent and open to occasional refreshing wit, as when prosecutor Ethan Thomas makes an objection to one witnesses' speculations about demonology. "On what grounds?" asks the judge (Mary Beth Hurt). "Oh...silliness," he says.

Somehow the movie really never takes off into the riveting fascination we expect in the opening scenes. Maybe it cannot; maybe it is too faithful to the issues it raises to exploit them. A movie like "The Exorcist" is a better film because it's a more limited one, which accepts demons and exorcists lock, stock and barrel, as its starting point. Certainly they're good showbiz. A film that keeps an open mind must necessarily lack a slam-dunk conclusion. In the end Emily Rose's story does get told, although no one can agree about what it means. You didn't ask, but in my opinion she had psychotic epileptic disorder, but it could have been successfully treated by the psychosomatic effect of exorcism if those drugs hadn't blocked the process.

Final rating: 9/10 for the genre and very good 8/10 overall and so I still celebrating and amazed by that movie, based on a true story from Germany.

Thanks for reading and have fun watching movies.
 

THANKS FOR FOLLOWING ANS SUPPORTING ME SINCE 200 POSTS





And there we are. Yesterday at 7 pm, at the usual time I posted about 200 times times of trailer, and reviews.

It feels amazing and incredible. I started the blog in February this year 2017, and just a couple months later number 200 was already rolled out.

Wow, time flies fast when you are having fun and I just wanted to say a couple of words.

First of all I wanted to say thanks to my partner IMDB and the Universal Studios in Florida. Without giving me the permission to use their data and links a blog like this won't work. So thanks to them. Really appreciate.

Also thanks to the co-operation partners FilmSelect, FilmSelectTrailers, UHM, MovieClips, and TrailerBase as well as HR Movie Base. Without those guys who are working behind the scenes and sharing and spreading the trailers all around the social media world I would be lost so thanks to you guys, you are doing also so well and incredible.

Thanks a lot to those who are reading through Facebook and Metal Pro. Really appreciated, thanks for liking and sharing my posts. It really means so much to me that also some of guys from my Facebook Friends are reading over the posts and checking the trailers. Thanks my friends, you are the best ever.

Also thanks to my girlfriend who giving me trust, the power, and some really good ideas on how to change some things on the blog, just to make it better. Thanks honey, thanks a lot.

But also thanks a lot to all the others readers. I remember I started with 5 or 10 readers and viewers a day, and now there are hundreds of people already every day coming here and checking out the latest news from Hollywood and the cinemas studios all around the world.

Thanks guys.

I will continue posting my reviews and the trailer highlights, I have some really cool blog events coming up next, the next one for example will start today, in two hours, so stay tuned, and I am currently working on a brand new design of the website and also on my own domain. So be ready for some great and epic moments in the future and as I said already, the next blog event will just start today.

Thanks again for all the love and support and don't forget: my love for movies will always be there and I will share, because this is the reason why I am doing this.

Thanks for reading and enjoy watching movies.

LET HER OUT (2016) - REVIEW + HD TRAILER FROM THE DVD RELEASE 2017

Let Her Out (2016)


video
Let Her Out follows Helen, a bike courier who suffers a traumatic accident. As she recovers, she begins to experience strange episodic-black outs, hallucinations, and night terrors-that ... See full summary »

Director:

Writers:

(story by), (story by) | 1 more credit »

Stars:


Let Her Out follows Helen, a bike courier who suffers a traumatic accident. As she recovers, she begins to experience strange episodic-black outs, hallucinations, and night terrors-that lead her to discover that she has a tumor, a benign growth that is the remnants of a "vanishing twin" absorbed in utero. Over time, the tumor manifests itself as the dark and demented version of a stranger. As Helen's emotional and psychological state begins to deteriorate further and further, she begins to act out in psychotic episodes that are influenced by her evil twin - making her a danger to herself and her best friend, Molly.

Official Sites:

Country:

Language:

Release Date:

25 August 2016 (UK)  »

Filming Locations:

 »

Company Credits


Technical Specs

Runtime:

Color:

Aspect Ratio:

2.35 : 1

Did You Know?

Quotes

Helen 2: You know how long I've been waiting? It's my turn Helen.
Helen: I can stop you.
Helen 2: You're just like her, you're weak.
Helen: I'm not.
Helen 2: Then what are we doing here?
Helen: This is the end.
Helen 2: For you.
Helen: For both of us.
Helen 2: She was a whore.
Helen: Stop! 
 
A girl prostitutes herself out of the Gemini Motel in Toronto. She is brutally raped and gets pregnant. She ends up stabbing herself in her belly. Twenty three years later, bike courier Helen and her best friend Molly are at the same motel when Helen gets hit by a car. As she recovers, she suffers from visions and experiences.

This small Toronto indie horror seems to touch on many of the horror tropes. The problem is that it never settles on one. It does plenty of stuff. There are some good body horrors. The actress is workmanlike. It has some good functional camera work. All the good work can't distinguish it from any number of other indie horrors. It's hard to care about her story.
 
Some horror movies can easily be declared as way too predictable and cliché. This one for example, where anyone watching is way ahead (no pun intended) of our main character. We know what is going on, even without much of the backstory. It hurts (yes the viewer too, but in a different way) just watching some things develop.

On the other hand, this has some really neat visual things up its sleeve and if you like horror, it does feed that lust and hunger you may feel inside. Not the best movie around or at Frightfest where I watched it, but not the worst one either. Just go with the flow, breathe and push ... well you know what I mean ...
 
"Let Her Out" caught my attention with two things; the first and most prominent thing was that it is a horror movie, of course. And the second thing was that the synopsis for the storyline seemed interesting and it could actually be a great movie.

I will say that I didn't really find this 2016 horror movie to be a particular masterwork piece within the horror genre. While the story was entertaining enough for what it was, then the movie was just suffering from being overly predictable and actually also being way too generic - leaning way too much up against many other horror movies. So it other words, it lacks originality.

There are some good enough moments throughout the course of "Let Her Out", mostly being the jump scares, but also the acting should be praised here. Alanna LeVierge really did carry the movie quite well with her performance as Helen.

"Let Her Out" is hardly a movie that will scare you out of your wits, but there are some creepy and spooky enough moments here and there to make it worthwhile to sit through the entire movie. However, "Let Her Out" just wasn't an outstanding or particularly memorable movie.

Nicely filmed and equally nicely edited, there is something oddly appealing about the movie in a strange way. And there are some rather interesting and somewhat disturbing visual scenes that were quite nice, and that was a definite boost in the right direction. Just a shame that the overall picture was so predictable and generic.

Helen's fall into madness was interesting enough, but the movie just didn't fully have what it took to be outstanding. But when the transformation scene took place, it just went down the drain so fast. While it looked nice and had great special effects, it was just, and let's be blunt here, too much!

This is hardly the type of movie that you will watch more than once, because the story doesn't have enough contents to sustain more than a single viewing.

Final rating: 5/10 for the genre and 3/10 overall. While "Let Her Out" certainly is entertaining enough for a single viewing, there are far better horror movies out there.

 
Thanks for reading and have fun watching movies.

MURDER ON THE ORIENT EXPRESS (2017) - HD TRAILER

Murder on the Orient Express (2017)

A lavish train ride unfolds into a stylish & suspenseful mystery. From the novel by Agatha Christie, Murder on the Orient Express tells of thirteen stranded strangers & one man's race to solve the puzzle before the murderer strikes again.

Director:

Writers:

(screenplay), (based upon the novel by)

Stars:


Country:

|

Language:

Release Date:

22 November 2017 (Philippines)  »

Also Known As:

Asesinato en el Expreso de Oriente  »

Filming Locations:

 »

Company Credits


Technical Specs

Color:

Aspect Ratio:

2.35 : 1

Did You Know?

Trivia

Kenneth Branagh previously directed and starred with Derek Jacobi in Henry V (1989), Dead Again (1991) and Hamlet (1996). Branagh also directed Jacobi in Cinderella (2015), in which he did not appear.
 
Thanks for reading and have fun watching movies.

AMITYVILLE: THE AWAKENING (2017) - HD MOVIE CLIP 1

Amityville: The Awakening (2017)

video

A single mother moves her three children into a haunted house, unaware of its bloody history.

Director:

Writer:

(screenplay)

Stars:

 
 
Belle, her little sister, and her comatose twin brother move into a new house with their single mother Joan in order to save money to help pay for her brother's expensive healthcare. But when strange phenomena begin to occur in the house including the miraculous recovery of her brother, Belle begins to suspect her Mother isn't telling her everything and soon realizes they just moved into the infamous Amityville house.  
 

Country:

Language:

Release Date:

2 August 2017 (Philippines)  »

Also Known As:

Amityville  »

Company Credits


Technical Specs

Runtime:

Color:


Did You Know?

Trivia

Jennifer Jason Leigh and Kurtwood Smith have both worked with Paul Verhoeven before. Kurtwood Smith on Robocop (1987) and Jennifer Jason Leigh on Flesh+Blood (1985). 

Goofs

This movie was set in 2014, but Belle's username in the movie poster in Instagram-style says she is '99, but in the movie was mentioned she's 17 which means she was born in '97. 
 
Thanks for reading and have fun watching movies.
 
COPYRIGHT © 2017 MOVIETOWN